Longwood Foundation awards emeritus status to former board members

Three former members of the Longwood University Foundation Board recently were awarded emeritus status in recognition of their exemplary leadership in sharing their time, talents and resources with the university.

Named “director emeritus” were Rita Moyer Smith, Katherine “Tassie” Bagley Madden ’67 and Dr. Wayne Tinnell.

Smith, who became involved with Longwood as the parent of a student who is now an alumna, is a retired senior vice president and senior trust officer for U.S.Trust/Bank of America, where she specialized in wealth management and trusts. She was a Foundation Board director from 1999-2008, serving as president from 2004-08. She also served as vice president of the Hull Springs Farm Foundation and was a member of its Strategic Planning Task Force. Smith has been instrumental in assisting in the cultivation of many foundation grants for Longwood.

Madden, a Longwood elementary education graduate who went on to earn an M.Ed. from Virginia Commonwealth University, retired as director of the Lower School of St. Catherine’s School in Richmond. She served on the Foundation Board from 2004-13, including three years as vice president. She also was a member of the Hull Springs Farm Strategic Planning Task Force. She currently is a member of the Class of 1967 50th Reunion Giving Committee and of the Speech, Hearing and Learning Services Advisory Board.

Tinnell retired as professor emeritus of biology at Longwood in 1999 after 30 years of teaching. He began his service on the Foundation Board in 2005, the same year he was named an honorary Longwood alumnus. During his time on the board, he served on the Hull Springs Farm Strategic Planning Task Force and dedicated much of his time to creating scholarships. He personally established the Camilla C. Tinnell and Helen B. Tinnell Scholarship in English in honor of his wife, Camilla, and his mother, Helen. Two former students have honored Tinnell by endowing two scholarships in his name, and he is indirectly responsible for the creation of at least two additional scholarships and a $1 million bequest to the university.