New Leadership

3 alumni are among appointments to Board of Visitors

Gov. Robert F. McDonnell’s appointments to the Longwood Board of Visitors include three alumni of the university — Colleen McCrink Margiloff ’97, Robert S. Wertz Jr. ’85 and Stephen L. Mobley ’93 — and distinguished business leader Eric Hansen, president and CEO of Innovative Wireless Technologies.

Also, at the June Board meeting, the Board of Visitors elected officers for the coming year. Marianne Moffat Radcliff ’92, rector, Dr. Judi M. Lynch ’87, vice rector, and Ronald O. White, secretary, were re-elected unanimously to their positions, and Jane Sheffield Maddux of Charlottesville, a retired businesswoman and community leader, was elected unanimously as member-at-large of the Board’s executive committee.

Margiloff and Wertz are first-time appoint- ments to the Board of Visitors. Margiloff of Rye, N.Y., is a former middle school teacher who also served as president of the Longwood Alumni Association. Wertz of Leesburg is commissioner of the revenue for Loudoun County. Mobley of McLean, program manager for Thomson Reuters’ Scientific and Scholarly Research division, and Hansen of Moneta, president and CEO of Innovative Wireless Technologies (IWT), were reap- pointed to the Board by Gov. McDonnell. All four were named to four-year terms.

Margiloff also serves on the board of Behind the Book, a nonprofit organization that motivates young people in New York City to become engaged readers. She has served on the university’s Alumni Association board since 2007 and has been president since July 2012, a position from which she has stepped down in light of her Board of Visitors appointment.

Wertz was first elected Loudoun County’s commissioner of the revenue in 2003 and has been re-elected twice since then. His current term runs through 2015. Prior to his election as commissioner of revenue, he had worked in the commissioner’s office since 1992. He has been a member of the Longwood Foundation Board since 2011 and served as president of the university’s Alumni Association from 1998-2000.

Mobley, first appointed to the Board of Visitors in 2009, chaired the university’s Compensation Task Force in 2012 and was a member of the most recent presidential search committee. He worked previously for America Online.

Hansen, first appointed in July 2012 to fill out an unexpired term, launched IWT in 1997 as a spinoff from GE/Ericsson. He previously held engineering positions with Ericsson and Motorola.